Photo: Pixabay.com

 

If you use Gmail or any of Google's apps, there's a good chance the monster search engine has data of yours stored in its systems.  Here's how to avoid being spied upon by Google-

 

To delete your location history

  1. Go to Google’s web page to see your location history
  2. Enter a time period to view – 30 days at a time
  3. Choose the period you want to remove/delete
  4. Click ‘delete history from this time period’. This link will be on the left side of the page
  5. If you’ve connected multiple Google accounts, check the history of each one

Turn off location tracking on Android

For individuals who own an Android device or have signed up to Google Now, their detailed location data is beamed to their Google accounts, where it can be stored for several days, even months. Location tracking on Android can be switched off through the following steps:

  1. Go to the Settings application
  2. Scroll down on the screen and select the ‘Location’ section
  3. Tap ‘Google Location Reporting.’
  4. Turn ‘off Location History.

Turn off location tracking on iOS

The failure of Apple’s iOS Maps prompted iOS users to stick with Google Maps, which means Google is also tracking their location in great detail. Location tracking on iPad, iPad Mini, iPhone and iPod Touch can be turned off through these steps:

  1. Open the Settings application
  2. Scroll down on the menu to the ‘Privacy’ section, and choose ‘Location Services.’/li>
  3. Turn off all Location Services by turning the top slider to ‘off’ – or scroll down to the bottom to turn off location-tracking apps one by one, such as Google Maps/li>
  4. Now choose ‘System Services’ to prevent location data from accessing certain features, such as location-based advertisements, disable Frequent Locations, or turn off the ‘Popular Near Me’ feature/li>